National :: State :: Jurisdiction :: Sale

South Carolina

Tax Sale Information

You must be logged in to view and purchase tax sale lists. Login now, or sign up.

State Summary

South Carolina sells redeemable deeds. Tax sales are the responsibility of the county treasurer or the delinquent tax department. Bidding starts at the combined amount of delinquent and current taxes due and is bid in $25.00 increments. Payment in cash or certified funds must be made by 5:00 P.M. on the day of the sale. If the bidder fails to remit payment within the time allowed, a fine of up to $300 per bid may be charged.

If a property is included in the sale because of an error, the sale will be nullified and the full bid amount with no interest will be returned to the successful bidder.

The owner has one year to redeem the property, and may do so by paying the bid amount plus 3% per quarter of a year up to 12% interest for a full year. Any premium that was bid is returned with interest if the property is redeemed. If the property is not redeemed, the previous owner may request the premium from the county. The deed is issued after the 1-year redemption period and may take some months longer than that, depending on how busy the department handling the tax sale is. Sales are held in the fall. Most South Carolina counties have property assessment data online. Some counties have tax sale lists online as well. Tax sales are referred to as “forfeited land commission sales.”

Summary courtesy of Joanne Musa's State Guide