National :: State :: Jurisdiction :: Sale


Tax Sale Information

You must be logged in to view and purchase tax sale lists. Login now, or sign up.

State Summary

Alaska is a deed state and sales are known as tax-foreclosure sales. The state of Alaska has 16 boroughs, and 11 geographical census areas. Sometimes the borough is responsible for the collection of taxes and sometimes the municipal tax collector has that responsibility. A special government real estate service or land management office as it is called in Alaska, sometimes handles the tax sale, or land sale but in most cases the municipality will sell the foreclosed property.
The borough forecloses on properties that have been in default for at least 1 year. If they are not redeemed during the 1-year redemption period, they are deeded to the municipality and then sold at appraised value, if the municipality or borough cannot find public use for the land. However, the original owner of record has 10 years to re-purchase the tax foreclosed property before the municipality will offer it to public sale. Land sales are conducted by a sealed bid process. Unsold properties are then made available for over the counter bids. Anyone who is 18 years of age or older and does not owe any delinquent taxes may bid on properties. Though properties are sold at appraised value, the municipality will finance your purchase and in some cases tax incentives are given for the development or improvements of the property.

Parcels are sold on a first come, first served basis and can be purchased through the mail giving it an over-the-counter feel in the purchase process. However, you may have to give a non-refundable earnest money deposit and go through a real estate closing and credit approval. For all that trouble, you will get a warranty deed and thus clear title to the property. Parcels are sold as-is, however and no warranty is given as to the quality of the land purchased.

Summary courtesy of Joanne Musa's State Guide